Skip to content Skip to footer

Death Metal


Country: England

When PARADISE LOST guitarist Greg Mackintosh put to rest his VALLENFYRE side project in 2018, he closed a difficult, but ultimately cathartic period in his life. Created as a tribute to his father John, who passed away in 2009, VALLENFYRE originally served as a sounding board for Greg’s grief, but then delved into his nihilistic take on the world. VALLENFYRE’s brief existence was intentional — the band always knew they could go no further than the three studio albums that bore their name.

A mere few days after VALLENFYRE played its last live show in September 2018, Mackintosh announced the formation of a brand-new band with VALLENFYRE bassist Chris Casket (Ex. Extreme Noise Terror), STRIGOI. The English twosome released their debut album Abandon All Faith on 22nd November 2019 which was met by widespread critical acclaim and support. From this success, the band began preproduction to take the project live, recruiting to the line-up drummer Guido Zima (Ex Implore / The Secret) and live guitarist Sam Kelly-Wallace (Ex VALLENFYRE) to begin spreading their foreboding gospel throughout the European festival circuit.

Unfortunately, due to the global pandemic that hit Spring 2020 STRIGOI were unable to perform live as planned, and realising this situation was going to be a long-term constraint Greg and Chris decided to begin writing for a second album. This 18-month process culminated in STRIGOI signing to Season Of Mist records, then heading to Orgone Studios UK to track 14 brand new songs under the watchful eye of award winning producer Jamie Gomez Arellano.

The bands line up, now set with the addition of guitarist Ben Ash (Satyricon / Ex. Carcass) completed the recording of the album ‘Viscera’ in October 2021, subsequently mixed by Kurt Ballou at GodCity Studios and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege Studios. ‘Viscera’ represents the further evolution of STRIGOI as a band, a concept fully realised as a statement of terror, malaise, and ultimately a record representing what Greg and Chris wanted to achieve from the band’s inception.

Their new ‘Bathed In A Black Sun’ EP includes four unreleased and exculsive songs from the ‘Viscera’ recording sessions. “The Grotesque” and “A Spear of Perfect Grief” are taken from 7 inches that were included with special edition vinyl of ‘Viscera’. “The Construct of Misery” comes from a Decibel Magazine Flexi Disc, while the title track is pure, unadulterated filth, slimed with sludge riffs and a crusty drum groove.


  • Greg Mackintosh : Vocals
  • Chris Casket : Bass
  • Guido Zima : Drums
  • Ben Ash : Guitar
  • Sam Kelly Wallace : Guitar (live)